Skip to content

Tianhong Dai, PhD

Principal Investigator

Dr. Dai is an Associate Member of VIC. His current research is focused on developing light-based technologies for preventing and treating infectious diseases. Particularly, he is considered a world leader who is responsible for launching the new research area of antimicrobial blue light therapy for multidrug-resistant infections.

Dr. Dai’s past research has resulted in over 100 publications in peer-reviewed journals with a h-factor 48 and >8,000 citations (Google Scholar data), and over 20 invited, plenary and keynote presentations at national and international conferences. In addition, Dr. Dai has been the PI of independent grants from the NIH (R01, R21 and R13), DoD, CIMIT, MGH ECOR, and many other funding agencies.

Prior Experience

Dr. Dai received his PhD in Mechanical Engineering at China Agricultural University, China and completed his postdoc training at Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China. Prior to coming to US, Dr. Dai was an Associate Professor at the Energy Research Institute, State Development & Reform Commission, China. Dr. Dai then had postdoc trainings at Georgia Institute of Technology, Johns Hopkins University and Rice University.

Academic Credentials

Outside of VIC

Dr. Dai is the founding Chair of the conference “Photonic Diagnosis, Monitoring, Prevention, and Treatment of Infectious Diseases (PDMPT-ID)” at the SPIE Photonics West. He is also the Executive Organizing Committee member of the SPIE Photonics West and the Symposium Chair of the newly established “COVID- 19 Application Track” at the SPIE. In 2019, Dr. Dai was named SPIE Community Champion by the SPIE for his contributions to the community. In addition, Dr. Dai is the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Recent Patents on Anti-Infective Drug Discovery as well as an Editorial Board Member of several peer-reviewed journals, such as Frontiers in Microbiology, Photobiomodulation, Photomedicine, and Laser Surgery. Dr. Dai has served on grant review panels for the NIH, NSF, DoD, Harvard Catalyst, French National Research Agency, Ministry of Education of Singapore, and Leibniz Association of Germany.